

Richland County Council

RULES AND APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE October 3, 2017 – 4:00 PM Decker Center 2500 Decker Boulevard, Columbia, SC 29206

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: Bill Malinowski, Norman Jackson and Gwen Kennedy

OTHERS PRESENT: Michelle Onley and Kim Roberts

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u> – Mr. Malinowski called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 PM.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. <u>September 12, 2017</u> Mr. N. Jackson moved, seconded by Ms. Kennedy, to approve the minutes as distributed. The vote in favor was unanimous.
- 3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA Mr. Malinowski stated it had not been determined if Mr. Donnell Peterson resides in Lexington or Richland County since his move; therefore, Mr. Peterson should not be appointed to the Community Relations Council until it is verified he is a Richland County resident. In addition, Ms. Amy Johnson Ely, who applied for the Transportation Penny Advisory Committee, was advised to make application to the municipality she lives in since she does not reside in the unincorporated portion of the County.

Ms. Kennedy moved, seconded by Mr. N. Jackson, to adopt the agenda as amended. The vote in favor was unanimous.

4. **INTERVIEWS**

a. Community Relations Council – 4 (Applicants will have fundraising responsibilities)

{The Community Relations Council helps to improve and promote communications among business, government, and citizens}

Mr. Jeff Stallings was interviewed for the Community Relations Council.

b. <u>Transportation Penny Advisory Committee – 5</u>

{The Transportation Penny Advisory Committee reviews, comments on, and provides recommendations on the Transportation Penny to Richland County Council}

Mr. Richard Brown, and Ms. Jennifer Paolucci were interviewed for the Transportation Penny Advisory Committee.

5. **APPOINTMENTS**

- a. Community Relations Council 4 Mr. N. Jackson moved, seconded by Ms. Kennedy, to appoint Mr. Jeff Stallings to the Community Relations Council. The vote in favor was unanimous.
- b. $\underline{\text{Employee Grievance} 1} \text{Mr. N. Jackson moved, seconded by Ms. Kennedy, to appoint Mr. Roger Sears to the Employee Grievance Committee. The vote in favor was unanimous.}$
- c. <u>Transportation Penny Advisory Committee 5</u> Mr. N. Jackson moved, seconded by Ms. Kennedy, to appoint Mr. Richard Brown and Ms. Jennifer Paolucci to the Transportation Penny Advisory Committee for 3 year terms. The vote in favor was unanimous.
- 6. **ADJOURNMENT** The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:30 PM.